His Yes Girls

Our Walk with God in Blog Form

Consistently Enough

Rev 1:8 “I am the Alpha and the Omega,” says the Lord God, “who is, and who was, and who is to come, the Almighty.”

Galatians 6:9 Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.

Just like the seasons, things in my life seem to come on strong and leave in the blink of an eye. The latest fitness craze is usually the ‘season’ that I am in. The last three years I have been ALL-IN on the following things: CrossFit, Olympic lifting, running, Pilates, yoga, Cross Training, strictly cardio, only eating organically and taking 20+/- vitamins a day,  literally doing nothing fitness or nutrition wise, realizing I need to start again. Then repeat. Then repeat again. I feel like my life, in almost all areas, has been characterized by cycles such as this. I am all-in and one day, just as quickly as it started, I am all out. Hot then cold. Not purposely do I do this, it just kind of happens. When someone asks me about a hobby of mine, up until about a week ago I would say “Yes I really like ‘such-and-such’ but you know me, I am such an all or none person!” and I meant it. I know our words have power but this was one of those things that I didn’t even realize I said… much less that I said it a lot. So, my life followed my words and for months I was all-in with God and then like the flip of a light switch, I stopped. For no reason, just stopped.

Psalm, 5:12 Surely, Lord, you bless the righteous; you surround them with your favor as with a shield.

Now, I need to go ahead and add a disclaimer here that I am not telling y’all this because I need sympathy; in fact it is quite the opposite reason. I am telling you who are reading this who feel guilty, burdened, like you don’t focus on Jesus, like you don’t know how to look to Jesus, hey…I’ve been there. I understand. I get it. I have been on both sides of the coin with God, all and nothing. It’s funny that when you step back from it all it can be so mentally challenging and intimidating  to try to get back to where you think you were when you stopped. But y’all, I have GOOD news: God doesn’t expect you to pick up where you left off. Actually, He doesn’t even want you back there. (Yes, I said back there) In the time that you feel you have been totally checked out, God has still used you, advanced you, and imparted His wisdom upon you because you are His child and He will never leave nor forsake you.  And the Holy Spirit doesn’t just leave you alone because you’re too busy. Is all of this an excuse to just stop because you don’t want to do it? No. But, living free from condemnation is ours because of Jesus and his sacrifice on the cross for us.

Ephesians 2:8-9 For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God—not by works, so that no one can boast.

When I started reflecting and putting the pieces of my 2014 puzzle together I realized that my hot-then-cold tendencies had to go and I can’t make them go by myself. I need to look to Jesus every moment of every day and allow the Holy Spirit to lead and guide me into the truth, into a consistent walk with God. I have prayed each day since this revelation for the consistency that I so deeply desire, as I think His Yes Girls have to be consistently walking with Him, consistently in communication with him, consistently looking to Jesus and consistently in the Word, which prepares us for each situation we will face in this life. I will consistently choose not to let the words “But, you know me, I am either all-in or nothing!” come out of my mouth because that is not the path and the yoke that I want to place upon myself.

Hebrews 13:5 Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”

I said many months ago that I wanted God to take all of my selfish ways and take out any part of me that did not line up with the Word. Well, I think (and hope and pray) that I am finally at the end of me and able, ready and willing to just let God work through me. I am so thankful for the way He works and so thankful for HIS consistency.

1 Corinthians 15:58 Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.

I have finally realized through the patience of our Heavenly Father that each time I have done something I have taken off with it in a dead sprint, each time only winding up winded, thirsty and so over it.
My prayer for myself and for you all for 2015 and each day forward is that we consistently say YES to and walk with the Holy Spirit, we consistently love others with the Jesus-kinda love, we consistently seek God, we consistently crack our Bibles instead of turning to social media or television and that we consistently let Jesus be enough.

Hebrews 13:8 Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.

Featured image

all scripture quoted above is from the NIV Bible
Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Consistently Enough

  1. What a good and encouraging word! Thank you Kait for allowing God to use you to encourage your blog readers today. God bless you! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

