His Yes Girls

Our Walk with God in Blog Form

Promises

Promise: a declaration that one will or will not do something; a vow.

People now days seem to take promises so lightly. We make and break promises as if it is no big deal. Or we just ignore the true meaning of the promises that we do make.

One of the greatest promises you can make in life is promising yourself to your husband (or wife). In this excerpt from “Being a Godly Wife: it starts with you,”Kaitlyn gives a wonderful definition of what marriage is.

Marriage is the covenant which God created that transforms two separate people, two separate beings, two separate lives, into one. (Gen 2:24). When two people marry and literally become one, they are not supposed to be easily separated. In fact they are not supposed to be separated at all. Marriage is a covenant between you, your significant other, and God. Marriage is becoming one half of a whole in God’s eyes. Marriage is rejoicing with God and your husband in the happy times and choosing to stick with God’s word and your husband in the not-so-happy times. Marriage is a covenant (commitment) not a “just for now” situation.

This makes me think of the vows that my husband and I made to one another only a few months ago.

Our Vows:

(Contact me for the full template) 

vows

To my constant friend, faithful partner, and love from this day forward – Being in a relationship with someone is more than just intimacy, it is a friendship and a partnership. My husband was my best friend before we said “I do”, and will continue to be my best friend for the rest of our lives. This means I don’t keep secrets from him, I don’t talk negatively about him to my other friends, and I don’t betray his trust.  Not only did we start out as friends, but we must always remember to keep our friendship alive! Never forget to be friends with your significant other. I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that I have God on my side, and I also know I have my husband on my side, and I will always be on his side too. Genesis 2:18 

Love without conditions – This was how we decided to word for better or for worse from traditional vows. When you marry someone you should at least be aware that there will be good times and bad, if you haven’t already experienced some of those times. I know that I had to be willing to go through any and everything that might come our way and love him through it all before I even accepted the ring he gave me (and especially before I walked down the aisle). 1 Corinthians 13:4-8

To honor and respect – I think this is a promise that many choose to ignore. We are so used to being strong and independent that we forget that with marriage comes the promise to not be independent any longer. This takes a huge attitude adjustment (of course your attitude towards independence should be lessened once you decide to depend upon the Lord!!! See It Is God Who Works in You. Honor and respect is more than just reverence and obedience, but it is also being willing to rely upon God AND our husband/wife. Ephesians 5:33

To laugh and cry together – as I wrote above, there will always be good times and bad. There will be times when something wonderful or something terrible happens to only one person in the relationship. This is when laughing and crying together comes into effect. If there is something that makes my husband happy or sad, it should also make me happy or sad. We are two that have become one. It isn’t his life and my life, it is OUR life. Ecclesiastes 9:9

Treasure the life God blesses us with – Our life may not end up where we always dreamed it would, but with God on our side it is going to be wonderful none-the-less. Sometimes it just may take a little bit longer to get to the point where it seems like life will be favoring us. However, we must cherish every single moment. We are all so focused on our futures that sometimes we forget to enjoy and appreciate the now1 Thessalonians 5:18

I give you my hand, my heart, and my life for all the days to come – When I promised myself to my husband, I didn’t just promise a part of me. I promised everything. My hand to signify that I will always stand by his side. My heart, because I will always love him and no person will ever receive more of my love than him. My life, because in order for our lives to be combined into one I have to share it all with him (and he to me). Colossians 3:18

These were the promises that I made to my husband the day that I married him, and I do not plan to take a single one of them lightly. Because I have learned to keep my promises the way that God keeps his. There may be times where the road gets a little bumpy. But these vows, these promises, should be strong and unfaltering.
Romans 4:20-21 Yet he did not waver through unbelief regarding the promise of God, but was strengthened in his faith and gave glory to God, being fully persuaded that God had power to do what he had promised

Don’t take the promises that you make lightly, don’t make them unless you fully intend and are capable of fulfilling them. And hold accountable those who make promises to you, and to others.

Fulfilling His Purpose | Philippians 2:13 | His Yes Girl, Austi 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

