His Yes Girls

Our Walk with God in Blog Form

#detox

We live in a world where we are constantly trying to cleanse ourselves of unhealthy things. We realize processed food is bad for us and then we stop eating it. We realize sugar is bad for us so we try to cut that out of our diet as well, and now there is tons of gluten free products that are all the rage. We try cleanses, fasts, exercise regimens, diets and supplements all in the name of detoxifying our bodies from things that aren’t meant to be in them. We focus on our body, and yes…our bodies are temples of God. but aren’t our bodies just the shells of our souls? We focus on making our exterior beautiful but it’s what is on the inside that really matters, what really counts for something.

1 Corinthians 6:19 Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own?

On February 17th of this year, I felt a calling to give up social media–a fasting of something that I really liked. I spent hours a day, mindlessly looking at the screen of my phone and at the screen of my computer when I could have been doing other things that would be much more productive. This is how my generation can be characterized I think, a generation of people sitting at home on the couch staring at some kind of electronic screen. Living our lives through the internet and through typing things instead of talking about things. I felt the calling for about two days before I finally succumbed to the voice of God. It’s in times like these where I remember that to actually be God’s Yes Girl, I have to like, ya know, say ‘yes’ when He needs me to do something. Though I didn’t say yes immediately like I wish I would have, 48 hrs came and went and then I was obedient.

It was so hard at first to not look at Facebook and Instagram on my phone. I was a bridesmaid in Austi’s wedding and didn’t even get to see all the pictures we took. Spring Break came and went and I had no clue what everyone did because I couldn’t see all of their fun pictures on Instagram. (To find out what everyone did I would have actually had to call them. I mean who does that?)  After a few weeks I wasn’t tempted to get on social media except for when everyone I was with, was on it. I realized then how much time we all waste on these sites. There would be 30 minutes when my friends and I were all in the same room and we didn’t even speak to each other because they were all lost mindlessly in their phones; checking emails, shopping online, texting, Facebooking, Instagramming, Tweeting, etc., It kind of made me sad because I realized that up until a few weeks prior when God asked me to stop doing these things, I had been this same way. A real life zombie, lost in technology while the world went on around me, passing me by every second.

To fill my time when I couldn’t be on my phone I actually had time to read the Word of God and soak it in. It gave me more time to just be with Him.  I could talk to God more and draw closer to Him in a way that felt almost too good to be true–but it was true. I think God asked me to give up social media as an example for me. This example was that even when you are whole heartedly seeking God, sometimes He will ask you to do things that you don’t really want to do, but you do them anyway because He knows better than us what is best for us. Giving up social media wasn’t something that I wanted to do because I didn’t feel like it was that big of a deal or that big of a waste of time. I didn’t realize that I was one of those people who were constantly lost in their phones and unaware of anything going on around them. I want more out of life than that though. After about 5 weeks this detox actually detoxed me and I didn’t even care about social media anymore, I didn’t really notice when everyone else around me was lost in their devices because I was too busy getting lost in the Word of God.

My fast was supposed to be over on April 5 because from day 1, I felt like this is when God would release me from it. April 5th came and went and on April 10, 2014 I woke up and knew that my fast of social media was now officially over, I felt released from it. I realized then that this was not just a fast, but a detox from the world. I needed to let go of all the silly worldly stuff that doesn’t matter. When I die, do I want to be known for the clever Facebook statuses that I posted, or the beautiful and perfectly-lit selfies that I posted to my Instagram? No. I want to be remembered for my love of God, for loving people like Jesus loved me and being humble, gracious, and kind. You see, social media is the highlight reel of our lives. We post the good parts of our days, weeks, months, and years and we omit the bumps in the road. The truth is, we don’t even want to hear about the bumps in the road. We base our lives and our definitions of happiness on how much money we have, how good we look each day, which vacations we take, how good we are at sports, how many friends we have, what presents we got for our birthdays and for Christmas, and what our boyfriend got us for Valentines Day. None of these things can be taken with us when we die. None of this stuff will be cool in 50 years and actually all the posting we do on social media seems to get us in trouble. Social media can cause problems with our family, our friends, our spouse, our bosses…and in 15 years you might have to explain to your kids why when they Google mommy’s name, there’s a picture (permanently linked to her name via Instagram/Facebook, by the way) of her doing a keg-stand in a ‘barely there’ bikini on South Padre that one Spring Break. (yes, I went there.)

I’m not perfect, but after taking a nearly 60-day detox from things that used to matter to me so much, I can see clearly now what is important. During this detox from the world I had countless answered prayers and breakthroughs in my personal life–clarity on some of the decisions that have been looming for months. An abundance that can be only explained as supernatural, favor that can only be described as unmerited. I had the correct 20/20 vision for God and the sensitivity to hear His soft voice even more clearly once I drowned out the white-noise of the world. God calls us to have a constant fast of the world, of our fleshly desires, and of all things not of Him, in Isaiah.


Isaiah 58:6 Is this not the fast that I have chosen: To loose the bonds of wickedness, To undo the heavy burdens, To let the oppressed go free, And that you break every yoke?
Today, when you are eating organically and detoxifying your body from processed and unhealthy foods, think about your mind too. Starve you soul from the wordly things that are of no importance to God. #detoxtheworld and #feastonGod today.
Single Post Navigation

One thought on “#detox

Leave a Reply

