His Yes Girls

Our Walk with God in Blog Form

Accountability Partners for Life

Proverbs 27:17 As iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another.

In several places scripture talks about how human beings are called to keep each other sharp, ready, on their toes and at their best. So how do we continuously sharpen each other? I wondered this for a long time until it recently hit me, to keep each other ‘sharp’ is to keep each other accountable. Accountability is when someone holds you responsible for the words you speak and the actions you perform, and accountability is a huge part of fellowship with each other and of our walk with God. I always say I want to be more Christ-like every day, and I want to live a life that defines being Christ-like. This type of life (to me) represents a sum of moments all throughout my life where I made the conscious decision to humble myself, be kind, gentle, and most of all loving to other people, no matter how they acted. Because I am a fallible human, I will stumble occasionally with my words and actions but the more I grow in Christ, the less frequent these slip ups will occur. In my walk with God, accountability is key.

Ecclesiastes 4:9-12  Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their labor: If either of them falls down, one can help the other up. But pity anyone who falls and has no one to help them up. Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm. But how can one keep warm alone?  Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken. (NIV)

Not only do I consider myself accountable to God, but I will also be accountable to my husband when I am married. Marriage is a tri-fold covenant with God and your spouse; a commitment that is not easily broken. Marriage was created by God to give man a help-mate and was created to be Heaven on Earth–the highest and sweetest form of fellowship is between a married couple. When we marry and become one with our spouse there is no more ‘me‘ but now there is only ‘us.’  Because when we are married we are only half of a whole, we need to be accountable to ourselves, to God and to our spouse. I know that sometimes I stumble and say things that didn’t need to be said, and sometimes I let my emotions get the best of me. With God we don’t have to have any more bad days because He has given us dominion over those emotions. Jesus overcame not only all these emotions but also overcame the causes and reasons for these emotions and ‘bad’ days at the cross. We have to choose to leave them there at the cross and not try to pick them up ourselves. Even though I know these things, there are some times that I need my boyfriend to look me square in the eyes and remind me of how I am acting versus how I claim I want to act. This is not being reprimanded, this is being held accountable to God and rising up to the standards HE has set for me to achieve. Having a partner here who is holding me accountable has allowed me to transition much easier into the womanhood that God created for me to step in to. This has made it easier to be the woman that I want to be and the woman God created me to be. Being able to have someone (our husbands) know who we truly are and what we can rise up and be (with accountability) is something that we have to learn to accept and use as a tool to grow because they are the ones here on Earth who have our best interests at heart.

James 5:19-20 My brothers and sisters, if one of you should wander from the truth and someone should bring that person back, remember this: Whoever turns a sinner from the error of their way will save them from death and cover over a multitude of sins. (NIV)

In my life right now with my boyfriend of 5 years and especially in my married life I will always have to try to be thankful when when my husband reminds me of who I am in Christ and how I am called to act. They say that sometimes the  truth hurts and this can be especially true when you think know you are the one in the wrong. When making someone accountable, do it in love. When some is making you accountable, receive it in love. Your husband is not supposed to just be your best friend but also your accountability partner for life. My challenge to you is not to get mad when someone you love holds you accountable, but strive for this kind of relationship where you make each other the best you are capable of being.

1 Thessalonians 5:11 Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing. (NIV)

Fulfilling His Purpose | Philippians 2:13 | His Yes Girl, Kait

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Accountability Partners for Life

  1. Mike Smith on said:

    That is Masonry in a nutshell. I am my Brother’s keeper!

    Like

Leave a Reply

