His Yes Girls

Our Walk with God in Blog Form

Self-Destruct in…….

SOS115
Are you hard on yourself? Do you ever get down on yourself when you feel like you have failed in some way or another? Do you make a habit of feeling sorry for yourself, practice self-destruction, self-hate, doubt in yourself, or allow yourself sink into a depression?

 

 
For my husband and I, whenever something goes wrong, we don’t look or feel our best (physically), or after completing something we are disappointed in ourselves because we know we could have done better, we both have a tendency to to ‘bad-mouth’ ourselves. We voice our self-disappointments to one another the most. To which we always try to respond with not only positive reinforcement, but say, “Don’t you dare talk about my husband/wife that way, that is the person I love and I will not stand for them being bad-mouthed!”

Growing up my family treated those kinds of self-destructive attitudes much the same way. (Which is where my husband and I got the idea). I know how much my husband and my family loves me. So, for them to feel so personally offended when I do that to myself (and visa-versa) makes me think of how my heavenly father must feel when I do this.

We are His creation, He loves us more than we could even imagine; more than our parents, our family, our significant others, more than anyone on this Earth could possibly love us. He tells us how much He loves us, and how he sees us so many times in the Word, for instance: Isaiah 43:4 – “Since you are precious and honored in my sight, and because I love you…..”.  There is no stipulation there, He doesn’t say He loves us if… or because…. or only under these conditions. He loves us through and through (see Kiat’s post on the extent of God’s Love in Sweet Sleep). So can you imagine how it feels to Him when we get those self-doubt attitudes?

He has plans to take us to our full potential, and when we doubt ourselves we are also doubting Him and His plans!

Jeremiah 29:11 – “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.”

We must all stop allowing these spirits of self-destruction to dwell within us. We must trust that when we feel like we have come short in any way it is okay, and it is more than likely part of a His greater plan! When we are not thankful for everything, or when we allow those spirits to overtake us the only thing we are falling short of is recognizing that we are loved with a love that we couldn’t even conceive. We are the children of God and the only thing that saddens Him is when we doubt ourselves, because He does not doubt us, and by doubting ourselves we are in turn doubting Him!

Ephesians 6:10 – Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of his might.

Galatians 3:26 – For in Christ Jesus you are all sons of God, through faith.  

Fulfilling His Purpose | Philippians 2:13 | His Yes Girl, Austi
Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

