His Yes Girls

Our Walk with God in Blog Form

The Drive of Life

“Nobody drives you anywhere if you don’t let them take the wheel.”

(Statement made earlier today by the CEO of the company I work for.)

psalm348

This statement couldn’t be truer. The only way that the actions or words of anyone else can have an effect on us is if we allow them to. However, this goes two ways.

We hear (and say) it a lot. “Such-and-such put me in a bad mood, because……”. “Ugh, I cannot believe what such-and-such did, now I am aggravated”. “Such-and-such drove me to this”. “This happened and now I am in a bad mood”; etc., etc., etc….. You get the picture…..

The things that happen, what other people do or say affects us when we let it affect us. If we just made the decision to not allow those things to have a negative effect on us then they wouldn’t. It is, indeed a choice.

Instead of allowing the negativity of those to affect us, we can (through God) make a positive impact on them. This doesn’t necessarily always have to be an actual action, but sometimes just brushing those things off our shoulder, and going about our day with a smile and praise to the Lord.

We also need to remember to let God take the wheel. Let God have a positive impact on our daily lives.

Just like Carrie Underwood’s song “Jesus Take the Wheel”, the chorus goes like this:

Jesus take the wheel
Take it from my hands
Cause I can’t do this on my own
I’m letting go
So give me one more chance
Save me from this road I’m on
Oh, Jesus take the wheel

We have to learn to let God take over, let Him drive us. We can’t do it on our own. We need his guidance and direction to get us to our destination. We have to consciously make the choice to depend upon Him and let Him take over. Not just in our times of need, but through all times. Every single day.

 1 Corinthians 15:33 – Do not be deceived: “Bad company ruins good morals.”

Proverbs 22:24 – Make no friendship with a man given to anger, nor go with a wrathful man.

Matthew 11:28 – Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.

Deuteronomy 7:26 – And you shall not bring an abominable thing into your house and become devoted to destruction like it. You shall utterly detest and abhor it, for it is devoted to destruction.

Hebrews 3:13 – But exhort one another every day, as long as it is called “today”, that none of you may be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin.

 

Fulfilling His Purpose
-A

HYG

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

