His Yes Girls

Our Walk with God in Blog Form

A Heart Overflowing

Psalm 95:1-2 Oh come, let us sing to the Lord! Let us shout joyfully to the Rock of our salvation. Let us come before His presence with thanksgiving; Let us shout joyfully to Him with psalms.

Driving by myself usually isn’t my favorite thing in the world to do, so when I left Alpine for Blanco on my way home for Spring Break I was not too thrilled. Though I always dread it, this time in my car can be nice–I can have complete peace and quiet or have intimate conversations with God driving 80mph on I-1o. I got fuel in Alpine so I wouldn’t have to stop in the middle of my trip and turned my Sirius Radio to channel 63, The Message. The whole way home I listened to it and found myself singing along (If anyone would have heard me, they might have asked me to please stop singing :)) and having my own concert with only God as my audience.

James 5:13 Is anyone among you suffering? Let him pray. Is anyone cheerful? Let him sing psalms.

When I was almost home, I had a revelation: I had been singing my heart out for four hours. And seemingly ‘small’ things like this, is part of the verse when we are called to choose God in all things. (Matthew 6:33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.) On my drive home I didn’t choose to listen to The Pulse, my normal radio selection, but I chose to praise and worship God in the four hours that I had. I got home and my heart was bursting with love, not only because I was excited to see my family, but because the love of The Lord has overflowed my heart. These precious moments with Him, singing and praising His name, worshiping Him, are the times in my life when I feel so close to Him.

James 4:8 Draw near to God and He will draw near to you….

Times like these are when I really know that God has changed me and my heart. It makes my heart overflow with joy when I can sing to God and praise His name because I know how good He is and all I want to do is spread the good news about all that salvation is. As college is coming to an end and I am not quite sure what my future holds, it would be so easy to be frustrated but I can’t let myself ‘go there.’ I don’t know what exactly what is around this next bend in the road–but God does. These four hours of alone time with Him bring me to me knees and remind me that God has it completely under control and if I continue to walk in the way which He has for me, my life will turn out perfectly. My life being perfection is in His perfect will and agenda for me already.

Psalm 31:14-15 But as for me, I trust in You, O Lord; I say, “You are my God.” My times are in Your hand; Deliver me from the hand of my enemies, And from those who persecute me

This Fall I do not know if I will be in Alpine and continue to have my wonderful four and a half hour drives, singing and praising God, if I will be in San Antonio going to graduate school and living at home, or where I will be. (maybe He will have Austi and I traveling the world by then for His Yes Girls 🙂 ) I can only say that my heart longs for so much more of God. My heart longs to go teach people about Jesus, to teach people about all that salvation truly is, and teach people that God is good all the time. My heart longs for people to know that God is not a scary man upstairs waiting for you to mess up and then strike you with lightning, but a man who is waiting with open arms for you no matter how bad you have been, He chooses not to even see that. God is someone who wants the best for you and me. My heart longs to help people in other countries, to travel the world and experience different cultures. My heart longs for every girl that I meet to want to know more about Him, more about Jesus, for them to want to be His Yes Girl.
I want my life to be an example of how much He loves me, I want His light to shine through me to all I see, and I want to choose joy and for all other people to have the joy of The Lord in them and be always in agreement with God. For people to look at me and my life and know that I trust The Lord in a way that makes them want to draw near to Him as well. I am so thankful for that time in the car and so thankful for how far God has taken me and continues to take me.

I may not know exactly what my future holds, but I know who holds my future. 

Psalm 105:2 Sing to Him, sing psalms to Him; Talk of all His wondrous works 

fulfilling His purpose
-k

Philippians 2:13 for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

HYG-fhp

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

