His Yes Girls

Our Walk with God in Blog Form

Fear of God

fear

Fear (archaic) to regard God with reverence and awe.

Proverbs 14:27 The fear of the Lord is a fountain of life, turning a person from the snares of death.

As a child I was taught that I was supposed to FEAR God. To my little self, God was this big scary man in the sky who watched every move I made and had a list of all of my mistakes and sins and whenever I died I would be judged and sent to an eternal death. This belief lasted well into my teens. I honestly believe that this is also how the adults who taught this felt about God themselves as well. Very seldom were we taught about the love and grace of God. Of course I knew about his son dying on the cross for me and my sins. And that he loved us so much that is what he did for us, but he was still scary, and I still feared him. In the conventional sense. It wasn’t until much later that I began to understand that fearing God did not mean that God wanted me to be afraid of him, but that he wanted me to admire and revere him and all his glory.

John 3:16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

That right there, what God did for all of us, is LOVE. He loves everyone on this planet so much that he wanted to give us the opportunity and the chance to spend eternity in his glorious kingdom. But his glory doesn’t only extend to our lives after we are finished here in this world, and I think that is what a lot of people seem to misunderstand. God does not wish for our lives here on earth to be sad or miserable. He doesn’t want us to struggle, suffer or go without. He wants us to have tons of blessings here on this earth too!

Deuteronomy 30:16 For I command you today to love the Lord your God, to walk in obedience to him, and to keep his commands, decrees and laws; then you will live and increase, and the Lord your God will bless you in the land you are entering to possess.

God doesn’t want us to fear him, he doesn’t want us to live sad and miserable lives, he wants us to live in his Grace and have fulfilling, rewarding, joyful and happy lives all the while giving HIM the Glory! And relying upon HIM to make our lives (and continue to make our lives) this way. Happiness is purely a choice, when we are unhappy and still ‘trying’ to serve him, he is not happy. See my post on Happiness being a choice, “Choose God, choose life, choose happiness”.

Philippians 4:4 Rejoice in the Lord always: and again I say, Rejoice!

We have a promise from God that nothing in this world can possibly separate us from him, his grace, and his love. He will never abandon or reject us. We are his children and we are to rejoice in and with him in all things!

Romans 8:38-39 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

My God does not sound like the type of god that I should be afraid of, but one to whom I should give all the glory and praise! One who rejoices when I triumph but is saddened when I fail. He does not sit in his kingdom counting mistakes, but is in our corner cheering us on and whispering instruction and encouragement into our ears.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

