His Yes Girls

Our Walk with God in Blog Form

Running for The Finish Line

1 Timothy 4:8 for while bodily training is of some value, godliness is of value in every way, as it holds promise for the present life and also for the life to come.

Physical fitness and nutrition are so very important to me and I try to spend at least an hour a day in the gym, four to five days a week. In the recent weeks when I have been reading The Bible there has been a common theme sticking out to me: running.
In The Bible when something happens, it happens immediately. When someone is describing our faith, they describe it as a ‘race’ that needs to be run. God works quickly. Immediately. This life, this faith, this walk with God is a race that needs to be run with endurance to earn our own gold medal in Heaven. God is not only calling us to be urgent about the importance of our salvation and the salvation of all that we know, He is calling us to put our Spiritual fitness on the forefront of our brain. He is calling us to be in The Word every time we have an extra five minutes. He is calling us to put HIM over everything in this world. So, a question I posed to myself was this: If I am spending at least an hour a day in the gym and not even an hour with God or in The Word, does my physical fitness even matter? And the answer to that was no. If I am not putting God first over everything including my physical fitness, I am not doing what I need to do. I am not running the race with endurance.

1 Corinthians 9:24-27 You’ve all been to the stadium and seen the athletes race. Everyone runs; one wins. Run to win. All good athletes train hard. They do it for a gold medal that tarnishes and fades. You’re after one that’s gold eternallyI don’t know about you, but I’m running hard for the finish line. I’m giving it everything I’ve got. No sloppy living for me! I’m staying alert and in top condition. I’m not going to get caught napping, telling everyone else all about it and then missing out myselfThe Message

Hebrews 6:12 that you do not become sluggish, but imitate those who through faith and patience inherit the promises. NKJV

Hebrews 12:1-2 Therefore we also, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us,  looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. NKJV

Philippians 3:14 I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. NKJV

I encourage you today, spend as much time in The Word as you do in the gym or training for an athletic event. Spend as much time in The Word as you do getting ready for work or school. Spend as much time in The Word as you on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.
Lace up your shoes to run the race of faith and keep fueled with The Word and The Holy Spirit leading and guiding you.  The only way to apply knowledge from The Bible and rightly divide The Word of truth is to immerse yourself in it and be all in, all the time! I am running toward my gold medal now!!

2 Timothy 2:15 Be diligent to present yourself approved to God, a worker who does not need to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.

 

heb 12 1 go 2 miles

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Running for The Finish Line

  1. We all should spend more time reading God´s word. Blessings! 🙂
    http://liveoutloudpris.weebly.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

