His Yes Girls

Our Walk with God in Blog Form

Sowing Seeds {part two-taming your tongue}

Proverbs 21:23 Whoever guards his mouth and tongue
Keeps his soul from troubles.

In part one of the Sowing Seeds series, we looked over how powerful our words are and what seeds we have been sowing with our mouths. The first step in sowing the right seeds is actually knowing that the words we say are not empty. It is only when we know the power they carry that we can start to transform the way the we speak, using our words for goodness and to glorify God. I decided many months ago that I was no longer going to negate God’s Word with my mouth.
I was going to speak life or not speak at all.

James 1:19-20 So then, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath; for the wrath of man does not produce the righteousness of God.

Galatians 6:7 Do not be deceived, God is not mocked; for whatever a man sows, that he will also reap.

Taming my tongue and controling the things that come out of my mouth requires effort and is a constant decision to not let my lips run free  like there are no consequences for what I say. The first step I took was being slow to speak (James 1:19-20) and slow to give my opinion. After learning to be selective and choose my words before I spoke them, I realized that a lot of the times when I had been giving my opinion before, it wasn’t even needed. I was learning to listen more than I spoke.

Just because I didn’t speak all these things anymore didn’t mean that sometimes I didn’t let something slip out, and definitely didn’t mean that I still wasn’t thinking that same way. The difference now was, I was holding myself accountable for what I spoke and I knew immediately when I let something slip and corrected it. I was no longer going to speak anything but goodness on anybody. This is part of genuinely loving others as Jesus loves me.

Proverbs 115:1 Not to us, O LORD, not to us, But to Your name give glory Because of Your lovingkindness, because of Your truth.

Being slow to speak had a chain reaction to ultimately taming my tongue. I took the old saying “if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything” and practiced it. Though my mind was loud, my mouth was not. It took three solid weeks of having all the old thoughts fill my head and not speaking them to break the habit. I would slip up here and there but being accountable to God and myself is what always kept me going. Having God teach me the importance of taming my tongue because of the power that words have also led me to believe and know God more than I ever had. If He says that words are so powerful and He says wonderful things about me, they must be true. I must really be the righteousness of God in Christ Jesus. I must really be the head and not the tail, above and not beneath, first and not last. I believed for the first time in my life that I was really something special because HE created me as someone special. And for the first time, I could say that not with arrogance, but in appreciation and awe of Him.

After he taught me to tame my tongue, this battle about the seeds I was sowing was downhill and I was the victor. No longer letting these things escape my lips caused my mind to quiet over time and I learned to take my thoughts captive; No longer letting myself make a movie out of a single thought. In Sowing Seeds {part three-taking thoughts captive} you will learn how to stop the thoughts immediately and walk in your salvation, sowing seeds that only Glorify God. You will be elated and joyous when you reap that bountiful harvest of good seeds!!

Proverbs 10:19, Proverbs 13:3
My journey to sowing the right seeds with my mouth and using all words for goodness and to glorify God.

gracious and godly woman

His word is truth. We are so Greatly Blessed, Highly Favored, and Deeply Loved.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Sowing Seeds {part two-taming your tongue}

  1. Pingback: Sowing Seeds {part one- are your words poison or fruit?} | His Yes Girls

Leave a Reply

