His Yes Girls

Our Walk with God in Blog Form

Fruits of the Spirit

Galatians 5:22-25 22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law. 24 And those who are Christ’s have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. 25 If we live in the Spirit, let us also walk in the Spirit. NKJV

I ask God every day when I am in prayer to reveal to me fresh revelation every time my eyes scan a page of The Bible because I am yearning to know God more and to know all that The Word says, it is my life manual. Today He reminded me of revelation that I have previously gotten, and expanded on it. I love seeing things that are talked about in The Bible as seeds and crops because it is such an easy way for me to visualize it all. We are planting seeds with our words and actions and reaping those crops after they have taken the time allotted to grow to maturity in God’s divine timetable and calendar.  I know that I am living and walking in the Spirit because God has done a huge work in my life the past two years, but as I was reading Galatians 5:22-25 in my NKJV Bible I realized that I never have understood why ‘longsuffering’ was a fruit for us to harvest. I see the fruits of the Spirit as the ‘reward’ so to speak, for us walking and living by the Holy Spirit in us all and being obedient to God. I am a literal person, so to me that meant suffering for a long time. I didn’t understand why if He gives us life and life more abundantly (John 10:10) and He has made our yoke easy and our burden light (Matthew 11:30) why he would want us to suffer for a long time. He had me explore this morning, the dictionary definitions of these fruits of the spirit. Not how do I interpret them, but what do they truly mean?
Love– to hold dear; cherish. To feel affection.
Joy– to experience great pleasure or delight
Peace– a state of tranquility
Longsuffering– having or showing patience in spite of troubles, esp. those caused by other people. 
Kindness– the state of being kind, friendly or considerate
Generosity– the quality of being generous
Faithfulness– being consistently trustworthy, loyal, reliable, especially to a person, promise or duty
Gentleness– the quality of being gentle, mildness of manners or disposition (mild–v. gentle in nature or behavior—not sharp, spicy or bitter, not being extreme!
Self-control– restrain over ones own impulses, emotions or desires.
The Message Bible: Galatians 5:22-25 says22-23 But what happens when we live God’s way? He brings gifts into our lives, much the same way that fruit appears in an orchard—things like affection for others, exuberance about life, serenity. We develop a willingness to stick with things, a sense of compassion in the heart, and a conviction that a basic holiness permeates things and people. We find ourselves involved in loyal commitments, not needing to force our way in life, able to marshal and direct our energies wisely. 23-24 Legalism is helpless in bringing this about; it only gets in the way. Among those who belong to Christ, everything connected with getting our own way and mindlessly responding to what everyone else calls necessities is killed off for good—crucified.25 Since this is the kind of life we have chosen, the life of the Spirit, let us make sure that we do not just hold it as an idea in our heads or a sentiment in our hearts, but work out its implications in every detail of our lives.
The Message Bible translation and the definitions that I looked up gave me an even greater understanding of how living life for God, God’s way and not my own, will truly make me into the person that God created me to be. I am not my own, I was bought at a price. (1 Corinthians 6:19-20) I am going to continue to choose to be fully submissive to God and be obedient because though there are things in life (and sometimes in The Bible, like in this case) that I may not fully understand, it doesn’t mean they’re wrong as is common thought. In this case, what was wrong was my assumption, and you know what ‘they’ say about assumptions… With God, all things concerning us are already perfected in His eyes.fruitofthespirit

His word is truth. We are so Greatly Blessed, Highly Favored, and Deeply Loved.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

