His Yes Girls

Our Walk with God in Blog Form

Sowing Seeds {part one- are your words poison or fruit?}

Proverbs 18:21 Words kill, words give life; they’re either poison or fruit—you choose. The Message

What seeds have you been sowing? No I am not talking about actual seeds, I am talking about your words. I was always taught to believe that my words have power with the popular saying “Whether you think you can or you can’t—you’re right!” I kind of believed that, but I definitely thought it was a bit dramatic. I figured some of the silly stuff I said was just empty words that didn’t mean anything. Right at the veerryyyy beginning of my walk with God I received a pamphlet entitled “Words” and if you saw me reading this pamphlet, you might have had to pick my jaw up off of the ground. I was absolutely amazed that my words, that I sometimes meant nothing by, actually had real power. This, along with learning that I was the Righteousness of God in Christ Jesus from Joseph Prince really kick-started me and made me want to learn who I am, according to The Bible. I got an insatiable appetite to read about and talk about God.

Anyway, back to the question: What kind of seeds are you sowing with your mouth? Are you sowing seeds that you will be joyful about harvesting? When I first started, my answer (whether I would have admitted it or not) would have been that I absolutely didn’t want to reap the harvest of the seeds I was sowing. There were 2 scriptures that just convicted me of righteousness as soon as I read them and immediately made me want to change my ways.

Matt 12:36-37 “But I say to you that for every idle word men may speak, they will give account of it in the day of judgment. For by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned.” NJKV
Matt 12:36-37 “Let me tell you something: Every one of these careless words is going to come back to haunt you. There will be a time of Reckoning. Words are powerful; take them seriously. Words can be your salvation. Words can also be your damnation.” The Message
Proverbs 15:2 The tongue of the wise uses knowledge rightly, But the mouth of fools pours forth foolishness. NKJV
Proverbs 15:2 Knowledge flows like spring water from the wise; fools are leaky faucets, dripping nonsense. The Message

After I read these, I though, woah there…I do not want any more idle words to leave this mouth that I’ll have to account for because now that I think of it–I probably have  quite a few. And, Hey! I am no fool I am wise! I guess I better start speaking the ‘wise’ way because I don’t want to “drip nonsense”

Luke 6:45 A good man out of the good treasure of his heart brings forth good; and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart brings forth evil. For out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks. NKJV

I knew and God knew that I have a good heart so I made the conscious choice to start letting my heart, filled with love, joy, and gentleness take over my mouth. I was no longer going to spew negativity, sickness and idle words because I was no longer going to let that be the condition of my heart. I am the righteousness of God in Christ Jesus, how can I be anything less than elated, gracious, and loving all the time?!
The next step, being selective about what I said aloud was by far the hardest step in this particular journey. I will share what scriptures I clung to and about my journey learning to guard my mouth and tame my tongue in {part two-taming your tongue}
My journey to sowing the right seeds with my mouth and using all words for goodness and to glorify God.
Pro 21:23, James 3:8, Matt 15:18, Pro 12:18

His word is truth. We are so Greatly Blessed, Highly Favored, and Deeply Loved.

grandplans

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Sowing Seeds {part one- are your words poison or fruit?}

  1. Pingback: Sowing Seeds {part two-taming your tongue} | His Yes Girls

  2. Pingback: Fruits of the Spirit | His Yes Girls

  3. Pingback: Asking, Believing, Receiving, Oh My! | His Yes Girls

  4. Pingback: Ephesians 5 Man | His Yes Girls

Leave a Reply

