His Yes Girls

Our Walk with God in Blog Form

Anger

Anger, frustration, stress; these overwhelming emotions are felt by us on a daily basis. It is going to happen. We are going to feel these things. There is no way around it.

“Emotions cannot be expected to just go away when we become Christians, but rather we are to learn how to manage them.” – Joyce Meyers.

Learning to control these emotions and to keep them ‘under wraps’ is essential if you expect to walk alongside the Lord. When you allow these types of emotions to control and take over you then you fall out of step. This does not mean that you are expected to let everything go, or to just sit back and ‘take it’. Rather, it is to learn how to deal with the things that anger you in a positive manner. To learn to think and not just react. To forgive and to not hold those dark emotions in your heart. 

In your anger do not sin….. Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, and do not give the devil a foothold….. Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. Ephesians 4:26-31

 

If you are quick to anger and quick to retaliate you are giving the devil, his demons, and evil the power! Anger only leads to more sin. It can lead to false witness, to malicious thoughts, and to harmful words.

When has retaliating in anger ever done anyone any type of good?

As I said before, this does not mean that you are expected to just pretend that nothing has happened. But rather you control your anger and deal with it in a POSITIVE way! This is so important! Controlling your emotions will give you Peace and Love and Hope! These types of positive energy are viral! They will positively influence yourself and those around you! 

Give God the glory! Pray and meditate for God to teach you patience and control over your emotions! You will notice such a difference in your outlook, and in your physical body! Haven’t you ever noticed how negative emotions can cause your body to ache, you feel sick to your stomach, have trouble sleeping, etc….? This can all stop when you learn to not allow your anger to overtake your mind! Here is an example of a prayer I have to say every day. I like to speak it at the beginning of the day and repeat it any time I begin to feel those negative emotions coming on. I am still learning and still need the Lords guidance and direction every single day!

Dear Lord, by your grace and your love teach me patience. Let me learn to control my emotions. Allow me to live in your likeness and to show those around me to not allow anger to live in our heart. Let the reminder of you love and grace come forth when ever I begin to hold a grudge or become angry. Let me learn to think before I act. Allow me to be an example to myself and others of the grace that you have bestowed upon us!

 

Satan, you and your evil have NO power to control me through my emotions. I will not allow it! I cast out any negative and malicious thoughts that you put into my mind. I command you to leave, you have NO power over me! 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Anger

  1. We are already victors in Christ!! We have won the battle:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

