His Yes Girls

Our Walk with God in Blog Form

Giving

For a long time I have had a bit of an issues with ‘tithing’. I would see pastors of churches driving cars that I would never even dream of being able to afford, and suits with price tags that made me blush. And yet the churches were asking for more and more money!!! I did not (and do not) feel like the tithes were actually going to help anyone in need!

I prayed and meditated about it and I came to the realization that by tithing it doesn’t have to be to the church. Tithing can simply be helping someone in need. And it isn’t always financially. Help your neighbors, family, friends, and even strangers. There are so many different ways to do this! Whether it be helping someone unload the groceries from their car, treating someone in need to lunch, helping someone build their house, and even volunteering at a homeless shelter! You can tithe with money, time, love, and everything in between!

Just be willing and open to send out an act of kindness to those around you. You never know how a simple smile or wave to a stranger might completely change their day! I believe these types of acts are tithing! Going out of your way to help others in any type of way! The Lord will direct you and show you where you are to tithe. And it will make you and the person(s) you are helping feel warm and loved. Be a blessing in someone’s day, someone’s life. This to me is the true meaning of tithing!

Malachi 3:10       “Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house, and test me now in this,” says the Lord of Hosts, “if I will not open you the windows of heaven, and pour you out a blessing, that there will not be room enough for.”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

